Water for Elephants Still a Favorite Book

Whenever a book becomes a movie, it gains new readers. Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants didn’t necessarily need the bump, though – it has been one of the most consistently popular books we’ve ever sold.

Water for Elephants

Movie's on the way

Robert Pattinson and Reese Witherspoon will be taking on the primary roles in the movie, and people who loved the book may be somewhat worried that “their” book is going to be ruined. Relax. The author herself has given the film a hearty endorsement.

You may have been expecting a continuation of our “Books That Changed Our Lives” theme and I’ll return to that tomorrow. But because we had an important event at the store last night, I’m going to be just a tad lazy and let you see, via YouTube, Sara Gruen discussing her latest book, Ape House, and her other novels plus the movie. Enjoy, and if you’ve already read Water for Elephants, I invite you to share your thoughts in the comments section below.


There’s more of this event and other good video on the site, too, if you want to catch up with Sara Gruen.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Alert, Book Review, News

2 responses to “Water for Elephants Still a Favorite Book

  1. Sam Bowles

    I loved Water for Elephants. I am nervous at the thought of “Edward” taking on a role in the screen adaptation of a book I so enjoyed, but if Guen endorses it, I guess I’ll save judgement for after I’ve seen it.

  2. Amber Duke

    I feel the same way Sam. We’ll just have to keep our fingers crossed!

Leave a comment