Shameless Cribbing: Happy Birthday, Edgar

Murders in the Rue Morgue

Birthday Boy's Best

Today marks the 202nd anniversary of Edgar Allan Poe’s birth … let’s see, that would mean January, 21, 1809. Born in Boston, he was most closely identified with the city of Baltimore, where he first gained wide success with the publication of The Raven. Did you know his birth name did not include “Allan?”

As wikipedia.org reports it (and who am I to argue with the collective wisdom of the crowd), Poe’s father abandoned the family and when his mother later died, the young boy was taken in by the Allan family of Richmond, Va.

The word “blog” comes from “web log,” and originally it was more of a place to keep referral links of good stuff found on the Web. So today, that’s how I’m treating this blog. Mental Floss has a wonderful celebratory piece on Poe that I can recommend for you to read. Enjoy.

2 Comments

Filed under Event, News

2 responses to “Shameless Cribbing: Happy Birthday, Edgar

  1. Thank you for the Poe reminder. He’s an old favorite. I’m looking forward to meeting Kelly Creagh in March-I enjoyed Nevermore so much!
    I just saw your comment on my blog about the classics challenge so my reply is there.
    I’ll have to come back to your blog often for book ideas. And Brad and I will have to cross the bridge and have lunch in New Albany again, and pick up some books!

    • Thanks, Susan. As we get closer to your YA appearance at the NA-FC Public Library on Saturday, March 19, I’ll be spotlighting your book, The Queen’s Daughter, on the blog. Your comment does offer me a solution, as well. I’ve decided to make Saturdays and Sundays low-impact days at NewAlbanyBooks (as readership is significantly lower) with Saturdays dedicated to pointing readers to an author’s Website, and Sundays with a bestseller list of some sort. Fortunately, most of my readers catch up with content they’ve missed, so even with the low same-day readership, the cumulative count can grow. Guess who gets today’s spot?

Leave a Reply

